Our officers and diverse board of directors have extensive experience in journalism, media management, and legal issues.


Clay Haswell, President, of San Francisco, Calif., has taught journalism and worked with individual media companies in nine countries. He has more than 30 years as a professional journalist. He is currently Director of Global Business Development Asia-Pacific for the Associated Press.

Ed Johnson, Executive Director, of Gainesville, Fla., is retired Senior Editor, New York Times Regional Newspaper Group. A publisher, editor and teacher for 35 years, Johnson was a Knight International Press Fellow, and served as editor and publisher of the Gainesville (FL) Sun.

Tatiana Repkova, European Director and Secretary, of Bratislava, Slovakia, is founder of the economic newspaper Trend and former editor and publisher of national daily Narodna Obroda and Pravda. She is also a former Nieman Fellow at Harvard University.


WFPI President Clayton Haswell is interviewed during the East Africa Free Press  Assembly 2002 by Kenyan journalist Angela Muya a KTN Radio intern and Assembly attendee. The Nairobi assembly received considerable print and broadcast media coverage in East Africa

Board of Directors

Bal Raj Capur, is a graduate of the Indian Institute of Technology in Kharagpur, India and has more than 30 years experience in senior general and corporate management positions in India and East and Southern Africa. These positions have included involvement in public enterprise reform in the telecommunications, radio and television broadcasting industries in East Africa and elsewhere.

Aron Cramer, Esq., Executive Director, Business for Social Responsibility Education Fund, Inc., San Francisco.

Douglas Freifeld, is an attorney with expertise in non-governmental organizations, legislative drafting, and international press freedom issues. He is director of the American Bar Association's Central and Eastern Europe Law Initiative in Moscow.

Jane Kennedy, former president and CEO,, based in Philadelphia, Pa.

John H. Kennedy, an award-winning journalist and educator with more than 25 years reporting and editing experience, including nearly 10 years at the Boston Globe.

Jay Mancini, President, Mancini-Mills Corporation, San Francisco.

Anthony Marquez, is Associated Press Chief of Bureau for California-Nevada based in Los Angeles. He was formerly assistant bureau chief for AP in San Francisco, regional editor at the San Jose Mercury News and managing editor of the West County Times in Richmond, CA.

Betty Medsger, former chair of the Journalism Department at San Francisco State University. Author, Winds of Change: Challenges Confronting Journalism Education.

John Marvel, is Executive Editor of ESPN Interactive, Bristol, Conn.

Sam Mbure, East Africa Director, is director of the African Free Media Foundation (AFMF) based in Nairobi, Kenya.

Kifle Mulat, president, Ethiopia Free Press Journalists Association and Editor, Ethio Times, based in Addis Abbaba, Ethiopia.

Mikhail Pastukov, director of the Legal Center for Media Protection, Minsk, Belarus.

Marcia Parker, Director of Development and Lecturer at the University of California Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism and former director America Online Small Business & Professional content. Former Adjunct Faculty member at Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism. Former managing editor, Contra Costa Times.

Bob Porterfield, former reporter at Newsday, the Boston Globe, and the Anchorage Daily News. Former Nieman Fellow at Harvard University and Walter F. Bagehot Fellow in Business & Economics Journalism at Columbia University.

Tudor Vlad, is chairman of the School of Journalism at Babes-Bolyai University in Cluj-Napoca, Romania. He is currently a Fulbright Scholar at the University of Georgia.


WFPI Director Douglas Freifeld arrives for a meeting of newspaper editors at the Kremlin.